In 1939 local returned servicemen applied for and gained approval for setting up a sub-branch of the RSL in Claremont. A Memorial Hall to honour servicemen from the Claremont district who served in World War 1 had been erected on the corner of Main Road and Bilton Street in 1924, but by the end of World War 2 the hall had been condemned. At that time the Claremont RSL had started to become more active with many new members joining in 1945 following the end of World War 2. The management of Cadbury Fry Pascall was anxious to see a place of entertainment for their employees in Claremont, and with their backing and financial assistance, the new memorial hall was officially opened on Saturday 4 December 1954 and the first clubrooms were opened in 1955. In November 1989 the current clubrooms were opened at 9 Bilton Street with a further extension to the clubrooms being opened on Anzac Day 1997. The Claremont Sub-Branch has come a long way since those early years and boasts a rich and diverse collection of military memorabilia. Not only has it become a meeting place for returned and ex-service men and women and their families and friends, it has become an integral part of the Claremont community.